Special K

July 12, 2007

Gomma is a label I’ve always been meaning to check deeper, ever since I heard the Headman remixes of Manila by Seelenluft and Saturdays by Cut Copy. Since then I’ve picked up the odd 12″ here and there and caned the WhoMadeWho lp when it was released a few years back (time for another!)

Thankfully Gomma have been kind enough tohook me up with Horses, the forthcoming release from Golden Bug – which definitely leans on the Laidback classic White Horse for inspiration. It’s gonna be released on 12″ in a few months backed with Tokyo Web a splendid little cut that wouldn’t sound out of place on the Ed Banger roster – check it on his myspace.

Golden Bug – Horses

I been a bit slow on the uptake with Golden Bug, a swift gmail search and it transpires I got sent his previous tracks but I never got round to posting them. Anyway after giving them a proper listen I have to profess my instant admiration for the track Barbies Back which is all about the wonky parpy bass punkfunk and female profanity – I’m a sucker for any track with dirty lyrics by girls

Golden Bug – Barbies Back

You might still be able to buy the 12″ from Phonica – if not you can always pick it up direct from gomma – the new gommagang compilation looks worth a punt too.

By now I imagine anyone who checks hypem on a daily/hourly basis will have got wind of the rather splendid Justice Timberlake Love Stoned refix – which definitely keeps the whole disco strings thing going for people who bought expecting more tracks like D.A.N.C.E. anyway Vice hooked me up with a nice little 5 minute † album medley which I thought I’d posted instead of the Timberlake remix

Justice † Medley

Speaking of Vice Records, I picked up the latest Chromeo EP the other week, Tenderoni remixes by Sinden and MSTRKRFT – the Sinden remix is banging yessir, the MSTRKRFT remix is typical MSTRKRFT really. Not given the abum Fancy Footwork a proper listen yet though…

Chromeo – Tenderoni (Sinden remix)

I got a nice dirty electro remix of the new Feist track 1,2,3,4 by Van She Tech – not quite as jaw droppingly amazing as the Boyz Noise remix of My Moon My Man but it’s party heat – check July 23rd when the single drops

Feist – 1,2,3,4 (Van She Tech Remix)

Man like Ursula 1000 sent through a cheeky little fusion of Amand Van Helden and Atlantis To Interzone which works quite well I think

Armand van Helden vs Klaxons – This Ain’t Hollywoood (Ursula 1000 edit)

Back in the dying days of Big Beat, before he was entertaining Hard Fi fans with Joe Smooth records and making mix cds that Pharell likes, wrongtom used to run half life recordings and put out tracks that were electrofunk meets breakbeat down Bacchus for a few Jack and cokes as half of Groundforce. They are notable for having their 12″ Every Friday Night pulled off the racks in the aftermath of 9/11 due to the unfortunate coincidence of remixes by Suicide Bombers & Hightower Set heheh.

Well, in what is classed among record shops as a warehouse find, the last remaining copies of Every Friday Night have surfaced and can be purchased from Banquet Records in sunny Kingston Upon Thames.

Ground Force – Every Friday Night

Keeping with the big beat theme, one of the reasons I moved down to Brighton to study was so I could make the Big Beat Boutique my home from home – as it turned out I only ever went once but my early vinyl purchases were all about Skint and Catskills. Amazingly both have survived the curse of big beat, with Skint now definitely in the straight up house music bizniz (with the occassional curveball such as Goose thrown in) whereas Catskills of late have been honing a fine roster of diverse artists like Black Grass, The Ripps and the amazing Husky Rescue.

More suprising, is Spare Time Machine, the latest album from Pepe Deluxe, which has dispensed with the rather tired cut and paste ethic of their original album for something alot weirder and more satisfying – Four years in the making, it’s a deep trip into psychedelia with instrumentation as impressive as the cover art (which is fucken amazing)

The third single from the album, Go For Blue, is released next month and comes with a rather nice Optimo remix with some heavy heavy drums – I’m not gonna post that but you can get their second album for free through an AOL promo – jus click on the big red GO! sign on their site yo!

One Response to “Special K”


Leave a Reply

