AIDS Not A Strong Look

December 16, 2008

aidslol

Time for a spot of Public Service Blogcasting. Comedy electro act Robots In Disguise were asked to design a bag to help raise awareness of AIDS, presumably amongst the comedy electro scene, and we were asked to tell you about it. Anyway you can see the bag’s design up THURRR, and buy it from HURRR. Only €15 and all the money goes to a good cause. Bonus!

Frankly as someone who came of age in the eighties I find the idea of raising AIDS awareness a curious one as I think my generation had it blasted into our conciousness by some of the most terrifying adverts around. Seriously even today i refuse to hang around with icebergs (though dressing as a giant AIDS slab for an 80’s fancy dress party is a great conversation starter).

Thinking back it was a curious decade, filled with both ridiculous techno utopianism and mind numbing apocalyptic horror. On the one hand you had the space shuttle offering a future of trips to the moon for everyone and the promise  of home computers able to create hot nymphomaniacs for us in our bedrooms and then on the other I seem to remember living with a constant fear of mushroom clouds appearing on the horizon and barmy cock rotting dieseases appearing out of nowhere.

Not that I was ever at much risk of contracting the virus though, blessed throughout my teenage years with a shyness that was criminally vulgar, the chance would have been a fine thing. But I’ve watched Skins, so I’m well aware that the youth of today are engaged in one long drug taking partner swapping orgy, the little bastards, and whilst I may be happily married now there is always the chance that my partner may wise up, kick me to the curb and I’ll need to take advantage of being a hugely successful blogger and DJ to score some barely legal tail. In which case it’d be good to be able to do so without having to have my partner in Fringe Tony organise a Freddie Mercury style benefit concert in my name.

Basically kids AIDS is bad, do yourself a favour and bag up, in every sense of the word.

Anyway as this is ostensibly a music blog I leave you with the video to Bruce Springsteen’s haunting ‘The Streets of Philadelphia’, a track I apparently played out whilst very drunk a few weeks ago. Vaguely amusingly I remember taking a girl I really fancied at the time to see the film that this is from. Yes, that’s right I took a girl to see an AIDS film on a date, you can probably see why I was at low risk of infection.

2 Responses to “AIDS Not A Strong Look”

  1. ACID TED Says:

    !I remember taking a girl I really fancied at the time to see the film that this is from. Yes, that’s right I took a girl to see an AIDS film on a date, you can probably see why I was at low risk of infection.”

    Priceless! Just priceless.


  2. […] without wishing to earn a rep as  ‘that AIDS blog‘ and a support slot on the next Elton John tour, we bring you news of a new compilation […]


Leave a Reply

