Detroit, West Yorkshire?

October 4, 2007

xdist.jpg

Warp Records has never been a label that has greatly interested me, much to the chargrin of some friends. The collected (or should that be selected) works of artists such as Aphex Twin and Squarepusher, save a My Red Hot Car or Windowlicker, seem to have passed me by over the years.

In fact, one of the very Warp releases I own is the Access Rythmn EP by Detroit producer Jimmy Edgar, which was purchased at the behest of my friend Perez who used to rave about him (now she’s a proper Warp freak!) but which I am happy as a kid with apple pie to own as it is splendid – the crunchy analogue hiphop of Urban Outtake in particular.

I’ve tried to keep an eye on Mr Edgar’s music since then, last year’s Plus Device album on Hefty Records is rumoured to be the work of young Jimmy – if it is then I applaud him cos it’s great.

I was more than happy then, to get a sample of his latest project as one half of X District, the other half being filled, quite notably, by tattooed vocalist Laura. Coming on like Chromeo if they weren’t obsessed with Roger Troutman and one of them was a Suicide Girl from Leeds, it’s a good look!

X District – Colour Correction

A 4 track EP is due to drop soon, with the exciting prospect of an Egyptian Lover remix to follow – check their myspace for further tracks and details yo!

5 Responses to “Detroit, West Yorkshire?”

  1. Jason Says:

    Hot chick, Hot song, Hot look! Is this the new thing? I HOPE.

  2. james Says:

    stunning girl! stunning beats. This is what i’ve been waiting for. The combo.

  3. Mire Says:

    Warp is a great label! Well, not so much Maximo Park.

  4. Ian Says:

    Yorkshires finest! + Jimmy = hotnoir

  5. camoscrawl Says:

    ha! i never got into squarepusher either.


Leave a comment